I’m still here…

How did a 10 day hiatus happen? Ah well, not to worry.

Measurable goals so far this month: successfully remembering to remove makeup every night so far. Started week 4 of Podrunner intervals and was surprised that when I used it on the cross-trainer this week, I am now running for three minutes at a time. Three whole minutes! I also managed to shed another 2 pounds and now total weight loss is at 16lbs.
I have also made time to practice the mindfulness meditation for 10-20 minutes each morning, depending on my schedule.

Attitudinal goal: being aware of complaining. Yes, I am being aware when I complain about something. I have also come to realise that there are different kinds of complaints – sometimes, it’s just me letting off steam when something has frustrated me and I don’t expect anything to happen, it’s just the way it is. For these I am telling myself that I need to accept these situations. I might not like them, but there is nothing to be done, so why get upset by them?
There are other kind of complaints that as soon as I hear myself raising the issue, I start to think, what can be done to improve this situation? At work, for example, there are issues which arise as a result of some of the processes we use needing updating, and until we work on that, the same problems will arise again and again. So a positive way to deal with these is to come up with solutions and implement where possible, or bring them to the attention of decision makers if necessary. Although I haven’t quit complaining altogether, I’m being more mindful of the things that annoy and frustrate me and how to use these feelings to achieve something positive.

I feel especially tired today as I did my 30-minute walk/jog this morning and went for a 3 mile hilly walk with my husband as it was a beautifully sunny day here. Tired but good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

